Current & Future Events

Sat 18 December – Christmas evening event. 7.00pm
Join Sonia and Tony to celebrate Christmas, to include drinks, soft drinks and a buffet of seasonal goodies. Telephone Sonia & Tony to book in
from Monday, 15th November. Cost £15.00.

Sun 19 December – Company Walk
Helen Graham is organising the walk. Details to follow. Please contact Helen to book in.

Company Programme:  January/February/March 2022

Compiled by Jane Munnoch and Trish Nichols

Below are Company’s events for the first quarter 2022. But we also have the following weekly fixtures in the Company calendar:

Our Club Night each Thursday at 8pm at the Boot and Slipper pub in Amersham – 2 Rickmansworth Road, Amersham, HP6 5JN.  An opportunity to enjoy a drink and chat with friends. This quarter’s Club Night dates are: 6, 13, 20, 27 January, 3, 10, 17, 24 February, and 3, 10, 17, 24, 31 March. Please note that food is available at the Boot and Slipper, and members wishing to eat can come earlier and eat in the restaurant or arrive at the normal time and order food to be eaten at the Club table.

Our thriving Bridge Group which meets every Friday evening. If you would like to play, please contact Jennifer Mann

We have noticed that there is a New Year’s Eve disco in the Lounge Bar at the Polish Club, Raans Road, Amersham, from 8pm-1am and we wonder whether any members are interested in this? as we have nothing arranged for this night. Contact: Jane

Sun 2 January – Company Walk
Walk leader needed

Sat 8 January
Event needed

Sun 9 January – Company Walk
Anne Piercy is organising the walk. Details to follow. Please contact Anne to book in. 

Wed 12 January “Ray’s Luncheons”
Join Ray for a two course luncheon at the Ego at The Pomeroy, @ 131 White Lion Road, Amersham, HP7 9JY at 1.00pm. Contact Ray Brindley latest by 9 January to book in.

Sat 15 January  – Concert at the Berkhamsted Jazz Club
Civic Centre, High Street, Berkhamsted, HP4 3HD. Jim Mullen, Mike Gorman Organ Trio. 7.15pm for 8.00pm. Finishing c. 10.30 pm. £15.00 per ticket. Bring your own booze/snacks. We can arrange supper in a High Street café beforehand if members would like.  Contact: Jane or Trish. Could members let Jane & Trish know asap. Tables are of 6 each and they seem very covid conscious, which is good.

Sun 16 January – Company Walk
Walk leader needed

Sat 22 January – Burns Night party. Lorna Hawxwell hosting.
7.30pm.  Cost £18 per person. 40 Links Way, Croxley Green, Rickmansworth, WD3 3RQ

Sun 23 – Company Walk
Walk leader needed

Sat 29 January
Event needed

Sun 30 January – Company Walk
Diana Lewis is organising the walk. Details to follow. Please contact Diana to book in.

Sat 5 February
Event needed

Sun 6 February – Company Walk
Walk leader needed

Wed 9 February “Ray’s Luncheons”
Join Ray for a two course luncheon at The Cross Keys, 40 High Street, Great Missenden, HP16 0AU at 1.00pm. Contact Ray Brindley latest by 6 February to book in.

Sat 12 February – ‘Black & white’ themed  Masquerade party
Trish and Paul hosting. Lots of music and dancing – so wear your dancing shoes! Please wear black and/or white if possible and a Masquerade mask (not a Covid mask!). Trish and Paul had a Masquerade party 2 years ago, so hopefully some of you will still have your masks. Start time 6.30pm. Please arrive on time. Trish and Paul will be providing the food and drink. Cost £15 per person. Please contact Trish for address etc.  Please contact after 6 January.  

Sun 13 February – Company Walk
Sandra Clarke is organising the walk. Details to follow. Please contact Sandra to book in.

Sat 19 February Quiz and Dinner. 7.00pm
Shoulder of Mutton, Wendover, 20 Pound St, Wendover, Aylesbury HP22 6EJ (Next to Wendover station). Tables of 4. Main Course meal + coffee in interval.

Choose from: –

  1. Chicken, Leek & Mushroom pie, vegetables, chips or mash, gravy.
  2. Gourmet beef burger, fried egg, smoked cheese, bacon, onion rings & fries.
  3. Cod & chips, garden or mushy peas, tartare sauce.

Cost £16 per person. Contact Trevor Goosey

Sun 20 February – Company Walk
Beth and Peter Johnston are organising the walk. Details to follow. Please contact them to book in.

Sat 26 February
Event needed

Sun 27 February – Company Walk
Walk leader needed

Sat 5 March  – Fish and chip supper at Martins
7.00pm. Soft drinks supplied. Bring your own wine or beer. Cost will not exceed £7.00 per person. Contact Martin. 

Sun 6 March – Company Walk
Sue Macpherson is organising the walk. The walk will be from The Red Lion at Chenies. Further details to follow. Please contact Sue to book in. 

Wed 9 March “Ray’s Luncheons”
Join Ray for a two course luncheon at The Woolpack, 21 Risborough Road, Stoke Mandeville, Aylesbury, HP22 5UP at 1.00pm. Contact Ray Brindley latest by 9 March to book in. 

Sat 12 March – Spring Ball
Viv Knott organising. Details to follow.

Sun 13 March – Company Walk
Jennifer Mann is organising the walk. Details to follow. Please contact Jennifer to book in. 

Sat 19 March – Supper at Judy’s house
Judy will supply food and drink. (No red wine please). Cost £15 per person. Start time 7pm. 25 Kings Close, Chalfont-St-Giles, HP8 4HW. Please contact Judy to book in. 

Sun 20 March – Company Walk
Walk leader needed.

Sat 26 March   Walk in London
St Katherine’s Dock and South Bank walk. Don Morgan is organising.

  1. Met Line train from Amersham at 10.00 to Tower Hill.
  2. Riverside walk through Tower of London.
  3. Crossing under Tower Bridge Road into St. Katherine’s Dock.
  4. Coffee break.
  5. Walk around the Marina, Dock, Maritime Museum, shops and boutiques.
  6. Ascend Tower Bridge and cross over in the upper glass walkway. Viewing of bridge mechanism optional.
  7. Descend to the South Bank and walk along by the river, shops, boutiques, market stalls, street entertainment.
  8. Lunch at Strada by Waterloo Bridge approx. 1.30 -2.00 pm.
  9. Afternoon optional – either continue exploring area or return by Temple underground station.

Fuller details to follow nearer the time.

Sun 27 March – Company Walk
Robert Martin is organising the walk. Details to follow. Please contact Robert to book in.

Your Committee

Viv Knott, Chairman

Chris Evans, Treasurer

Robert Martin, Secretary  robert.martin1957@btinternet.com

Sandra Mead, Membership Secretary

Christine Smith, Membership Secretary

Val Taylor, Welfare Officer

Sandra Clarke, Member Without Portfolio and Sunday Walks co-ordinator

COVID – Polite Notice

Members who are, or might be, affected by COVID, are asked to please stay away from Company events until they are considered clear of the virus in accordance with government advice. It is hoped that this will provide reassurance to event hosts and increase the number of event offers.

Past Events

Fri 1 Nov Company Bridge. 

Sat 2 Nov 7.00 p.m. Party at Kathy and Nabil’s. Details to follow. Contact Kathy. 

Sun 3 Nov 10.30 a.m. Walk and Pub Lunch. Contact Lorna. Please book for lunch by 6.30 p.m. on Fri 1 Nov. 

Thurs 7 Nov 8.00 p.m. Our weekly Club Night at the Boot and Slipper in Amersham. Meet up for a drink and a chat and catch up on the latest news.

Fri 8 Nov Company Bridge.

Sat 9 Nov 7.00 p.m. for 7.30 p.m. Join Christine for a Chinese at the Chesham Cottage, Church Street, Chesham HP5 1HU. This will be a set three course menu. Cost £22.50 to include coffee and a tip. Please contact Christine by 5 Nov to book in for this tasty evening.

Sun 10 Nov 10.30 a.m. Walk and Pub Lunch with Wilma and Jan. Contact Wilma. Please book for lunch by 6.30 p.m. on Fri 8 Nov.

Mon 11 Nov 12.30 p.m. Company’s Monthly Lunch. Meet at The Jolly Cricketers, Chalfont Road, Seer Green, Beaconsfield HP9 2YG. Contact Kathy.

Thurs 14 Nov 8.00 p.m. Club Night. Meet up with Company friends for a drink at the Boot & Slipper in Amersham.

Fri 15 Nov Company Bridge.

Sat 16 Nov 6.45 p.m. for 7.00 p.m. start. Ten Pin Bowling at Hollywood Bowl, Eden Centre, High Wycombe. And afterwards dinner at Eden Centre. Phone Richard for details and to book in.

Sun 17 Nov 10.30 a.m. Walk and Pub Lunch. Contact Jane. Please book for lunch by 6.30 p.m. on Fri 15 Nov.

Thurs 21 Nov 8.00 p.m. Club Night. Meet up with Company friends for a drink at the Boot & Slipper in Amersham.

Fri 22 Nov Company Bridge.

Sat 23 Nov 7.30 p.m. Fish and Chip Supper at Martin’s in High Wycombe. Soft drinks provided, but please bring your own alcoholic drinks. Book in with Martin by Fri morning, 22 Nov latest. Also contact him for directions. £6.00 cover charge.

Sun 24 Nov 10.30 a.m. Walk and Pub Lunch with Dave. Please book for lunch by 6.30 p.m. on Fri 22 Nov. Phone Dave.

Thurs 28 Nov 8.00 p.m. Our weekly Club Night at the Boot and Slipper in Amersham. An opportunity to enjoy a drink and a chat with friends.

Fri 29 Nov Company Bridge.

Sat 30 Nov 7.30 p.m. Dinner at the Coco Tamarind Indian Restaurant nr. Princes Risborough. HP27 9LY. Contact Robert .

Sun 1 Dec Walk & Pub Lunch. Contact Peter & Beth by Fri 29 Nov to book.

Thu 5 Dec 8.00 p.m. Club Night. 

Fri 6 Dec Bridge.

Sat 7 Dec 7.30 p.m. Dish and Bottle Party at Philip’splease ring him to discuss food and directions etc. Or email. Cover charge £6.00. Please do not contact him before 10 Nov.

Sun 8 Dec Walk & Pub Lunch. Contact Chris & Pearl by Fri 6 Dec to book.

Thu 12 Dec 8.00 p.m. Club Night.

Fri 13 Dec Bridge.

Sat 14 Dec 7.00 p.m. for 7.30 p.m. COMPANY Christmas Dinner Dance at Harewood Downs Golf Club, Cokes Lane,Chalfont St Giles, HP8 4TA. Black Tie event. Dancing to LOGO. 3 Course meal with tea/coffee and mints plus mince pie. A glass of Prosecco on arrival and a glass of red or white wine at the table. Cost £35.00 Please Contact Ray Stockwell to book in. Menu has been sent to all members and your choice should be emailed to Ray by 23 Nov 2019. Please send your cheque, made out to COMPANY, to Chris Evans or pay electronically to COMPANY.

Sun 15 Dec Walk & Pub Lunch. Contact Anne by Fri 13 Dec to book.

Thu 19 Dec 8.00 p.m. Club Night.

Fri 20 Dec Bridge.

or

Fri 20 Dec 7.30 p.m. Blag “SO, HERE IT IS MERRY CHRISTMAS!” Come along to the Pump House Theatre, Local Board Road, Watford, WD17 2JP. It’s another year of their festive, fantastic, funny, first-class, frolicking, fabulous, familiar, flamboyant, five-star, feel-good, twenty first, family Christmas Show. A look back at 2019, Mega Audience participation, ‘Love Island’…with Tinsel, X-mas Factor,  a festive Brexit, What’s been going on in the West End, An audience with a multiple award winning Centergenarian actor, How your pets cope with all the festive Shenanigans, singing trees, turkeys and balls! Tickets £12.00. Ring Don to book in.

Sat 21 Dec 7.30 p.m. Join Delia and Ron for a Christmas Mix and Mingle in Ruislip-mulled wine, mince pies and more. Cost £10.00. Please book in no later than Mon 16 Dec.

Sun 22 Dec Walk & Pub Lunch. No walk planned. Any offers?

Thu 26 Dec Boxing Day no Club Night.

Fri 27 Dec Bridge.

Sat 28 Dec 7.30 p.m. Join Lorna in Croxley Green for a Surprise Party. Please ring to book in, arrange food and for directions. Cost £18.00.

Sun 29 Dec Walk & Pub Lunch. Contact Dave by Fri 27 Dec to book.

Tue 31 Dec 8.30 p.m. New Years Eve Concert, Polish Club, Amersham. 20/20 Party band, Tickets £15.00. Phone or email Peter Ward. Closing date 22-12-2019.

Thu 2 Jan 8.00 p.m. Club Night. 

Fri 3 Jan Bridge.

Sat 4 Jan 7.30 p.m. Join Lilian for a delightful Chinese set meal at Meng House, 13 Cokes Lane, Nightingale Corner, Little Chalfont, HP7 9PZ Cost £24.50 plus drinks and tip. Please let her know by 16 Dec.

Sun 5 Jan Walk & Pub Lunch. Contact Anne by Fri 3 Jan to book.

Thu 9 Jan 8.00 p.m. Club Night.

Fri 10 Jan Bridge.

Sat 11 Jan 7.00 p.m. for 7.30 p.m. Liaisons’ Buffet Dinner & Dance. Beat those January Blues. As it was so successful last year the lovely venue of Harleyford Golf Club, Harleyford Estate, Henley Road, Marlow, SL7 2SP has been rebooked. Glass of Bubbly on Arrival, Buffet Dinner – then just dance the night away to great music till midnight, Tickets  £35.00. Menu and more details to follow. Book early with Peter (we sold out early last year).

Sun 12 Jan Walk & Pub Lunch. Contact Jennifer by Fri 10 Jan to book.

Thu 16 Jan 8.00 p.m. Club Night. 

Fri 17 Jan Bridge.

Sat 18 Jan 7.00 p.m. Games Evening with Jennifer at her home. Rumikub was very popular last year, so will play that and some others. Please let Jennifer know, beforehand, if you have any game suggestions. £12.00 cover charge. Contact Jennifer by phone or email.

Sun 19 Jan Walk & Pub Lunch. Contact Robert by Fri 17 Jan to book.

Thu 23 Jan 8.00 p.m. Club Night.

Fri 24 Jan Bridge.

Sat 25 Jan 7.30 p.m. Please join us to celebrate Burns Night in style with a special four course meal at the Crown Pub in Penn (Church Road, HP10 8NY) with musical accompaniment from a Scottish piper! There will be a set menu offering both traditional and other choices at a cost of approximately £20.00 per person excluding drinks. Full details are not available at time of going to press but final menu and cost will be emailed to all when available. To book in, please email or call Jan. PS And feel free to wear some tartan!

Sun 26 Jan Walk & Pub Lunch. Contact Wilma by Fri 24 Jan to book.

Thu 30 Jan 8.00 p.m. Club Night.

Fri 31 Jan Bridge.

Sat 1 Feb 7.00 p.m. for 7.30 p.m. Join Val for excellent Italian Cuisine at the Dolce Vita Restaurant at Wooburn Green, HP10 0EU. Choose from the menu on http://dolcevitawooburn.co.uk/menu.html and let Val know by 27 Jan. There will be a 10% service charge added to your individual bill.

Sun 2 Feb Walk & Pub Lunch. Contact Chris & Pearl by Fri 31 Jan to book.

Thu 6 Feb 8.00 p.m. Club Night. 

Fri 7 Feb Bridge.

Sat 8 Feb 7.00 p.m. for 7.30 p.m. Turkish meal at Village Mangel, 13 Hill Avenue, Amersham, HP6 5BD. Booked for approx 12 people. Cost £25.00 plus drinks and tip. Need numbers by 31 Jan at latest. Please contact Gill.

Sun 9 Feb Walk & Pub Lunch. Contact Sandra by Fri 7 Feb to book.

Thu 13 Feb 8.00 p.m. Club Night.

Fri 14 Feb Bridge.

Sat 15 Feb 8.00 p.m. Valentines Dance, Polish Club, Raans Road, Amersham, HP6 6LX. Tickets £18.00.  2 rock Bands. Phone or email Peter.

Sun 16 Feb Walk & Pub Lunch. Contact Jane by Fri 14 Feb to book.

and

Sun 16 Feb 7.30 p.m. Fascinating Aida at Wycombe Swan Theatre. We have tickets booked for this hilarious Award Winning trio. Discounted price £28.00. Deadline for payment 9 Jan. Please contact Helen.

Thu 20 Feb 8.00 p.m. Club Night. 

Fri 21 Feb Bridge.

Sat 22 Feb 7.00 p.m. Join Sonia & Tony for a GET TOGETHER – shake off the winter blues!  This will include a buffet, wine and soft drinks. Cost £15.00. Please telephone Sonia or Tony to book in and for directions.

Sun 23 Feb Walk & Pub Lunch. Contact Sue & Bernie by Fri 21 Feb to book.

Thu 27 Feb 8.00 p.m. Club Night. 

Fri 28 Feb Bridge.

Sat 29 Feb 7.30 p.m. Join Jan & Gerry’s for one of their FAMOUS! Pie, Pasta and Puzzle Nights! Cost £15.00. To book in phone Jan or Gerry.

Sun 1 Mar Walk & Pub Lunch. Contact Helen by Fri 28 Feb to book.

Thu 5 Mar 8.00 p.m. Club Night. 

Fri 6 Mar Bridge.